Google+ Badge

Friday, 21 August 2015

The Network Series Book Reviews:

I was a participant in The Network Series Review Tour and published my review for Miss Mabel's School for Girls  by Katie Cross in late July.The reviews for Books Two and Three are included in this post. You can read Book One by clicking on the link below:

 Miss Mabel's School for Girls


Antebellum Awakening (The Network Series, #2)

Never underestimate the power of a volatile witch.

Still reeling in the wake of her mother’s death, sixteen-year-old Bianca Monroe is forced to move to Chatham Castle. Not even the sudden appearance of ancient dragons in haunted Letum Wood nor her two best friends can distract her from the strength of her deep, dark rage.  Her grief puts her magical powers into chaos, endangering any witch around her. She has six months left to destroy the curse that will kill her and fulfill her contract with the most cunning enemy of all: her former teacher Miss Mabel. Bianca must make a choice: learn to control her restless powers, or let the powers control her.

Antebellum Awakening is the second book in the thrilling new fantasy collection The Network Series. It’s a haunting tale about tragedy, loss, and the power of moving on.

Book Review of Antebellum Awakening:    
Sixteen-year-old Bianca Monroe now lives with her father Derrick at Chatham Castle following the tragic death of her mother, Marie. She is remorseful and does not know how to control her grief; is too stubborn to seek help, but knows her moods are uncontrollable and often causes calamities. Bianca wants to destroy detestable Miss Mabel but knows it will take cunning skills and wits to fight the vile witch who refuses to terminate the Inheritance Curse that will kill her on her seventeenth birthday.

She also wants to find a way to snatch the Book of Contracts from her so that she can terminate their binding agreement, written in blood. When Miss Mabel summons Bianca to carry out her part of the binding contract and reveals the deadly task she has to perform, unwillingly, it only makes Bianca more determined to outwit the witch at her own game, even if she has to die to do it.

Katie Cross caught my attention once more with Antebellum Awakening, her second book from The Network Series. It is even more absorbing and action filled than Book One. I found the story extremely poignant, intense and suspenseful as Bianca struggled to cope with the loss of her mother and other threatening problems that Miss Mabel inflicted on her and the community. 

There were times, though; that I worried about Bianca’s impulsive behavior and rash decisions, but that made the story even more appealing. She is a lot stronger than she believes. I was also fond of other main characters and enjoyed the mild romance and humour that the novel contained. Antebellum Awakening is an entertaining book that young adults will enjoy.

 Rating: 



Isadora is a quiet, old witch living alone in the fog-strewn forest of Letum Wood. Her magical power is great, but her foresight is even greater.As a Watcher, Isadora has the ability to see into the heart of every witch she meets, a talent that makes her the perfect guardian of the prestigious Miss Mabel’s School for Girls.Any witch that wants to enter the school must first pass an interview with Isadora. No secret insecurity or sinister motivation can be hidden from a Watcher, as four teenage girls will soon find out.Join Leda, Camille, Michelle, and Priscilla, as they each encounter Isadora in their quest to join Miss Mabel’s School for Girls. It’s a collection of short stories that fans of Miss Mabel’s School for Girls can’t afford to miss.

Book Review of The Isadora Interviews:

The Isadora Interviews is the third book from The Network Series by Katie Cross. It consists of four short stories containing useful in-depth background information on four girls who are main characters in the series. You will become acquainted with Leda, Camille, Michelle and Priscilla who display uncommon personalities, attitudes, and skills, which reflects their family life. 

Isadora is an elderly witch and Watcher who can read people’s innermost thoughts and is an excellent judge of character. This special skill makes her the ideal recruiter for selecting potential girls to attend Miss Mabel’s School for Girls, located in Letum Wood. She is a sharp-witted witch who certainly knows how to extract information from persons without their knowledge.

This charming book complements the others in The Network Series. It shows the amusing selection process for the girls who are to attend Miss Mabel’s School for Girls, as well as hints of the significant future roles they will play. Having read the previous books from the series, The Isadora Interviews made me more understanding and somewhat sympathetic to the girls and their mannerisms. The Isadora Interviews is nicely developed and Katie Cross writes very well and creatively to attract her readers.

 Rating:     


Katie Cross grew up in the mountains of Idaho, where she still loves to play when she gets the chance.If she’s not writing, you can find her traveling, working as a pediatric nurse, trail running with her husband and two dogs, or curled up with a book and a cup of chai.

Author Online: Website * Blog * Facebook * Twitter @kcrosswriting

Please, feel free  to comment.